Duration: Approx. 32 minutes
Dedicated to the “Joods Maatschappelijk Werk” (Jewish Social Work) and Betsy van Delft, the Hague. With thanks to Prof. Wesselius from the University of Amsterdam.

Ha Zohar HaRakia is taken from the Book of Daniel 12:3 and means “the brilliance of the firmament”


4 Flutes (4rth doubling Piccolo)
3 Oboes
English Horn in F
2 Clarinets in Eb
2 Bass Clarinets in Bb
4 Bassoons (4rth doubling Double bassoon)

4 French Horns in F
3 Trumpets
2 Trombones
Bass Trombone

Percussion (3 players):
2 Tam-tams
3 Suspended Cymbals
Bass Drum
Suspended Small Bass Drum (drum-kit size)
Crotales (2 chromatic octaves from F above middle C)

Mixed Choir
2 Bass soloists from the Choir


2 Pianos

String Orchestra

Score is transposed

First performance was on June 12, 1988 in the Beurs van Berlage, Amsterdam, performed by the Choir New Music and the Netherlands Philharmonic Orchestra conducted by Huub Kerstens.